Press "Enter" to skip to content

IMF’s EFF agreement passed with 95 votes majority

* 120 MPs vote for resolution, 25 vote against
* SJB, TNA, SLFP vote against resolution

The Resolution for the Implementation of the Arrangement under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF) of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for Sri Lanka has been passed in Parliament yesterday with a majority of 95 votes.

A total of 120 MPs voted in favour of the Resolution while 25 voted against it.

Members of Parliament voted for the resolution on the implementation of the IMF-supported program following a three-day debate from April 26 to 28.

The main Opposition Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), the Tamil National Alliance (TNA), and Sri Lanka Freedom Party voted against the resolution.

Except for SJB MP A.H.M Fowzie, all other members of Samagi Jana Balavegaya and members of Tamil National Alliance were not present in the Chamber at the time of voting. MP A.H.M. Fowzie also voted in favour of the resolution.

The Supreme Lanka Coalition also voted against the resolution.

Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera and Ahila Ilankai Thamil Congress (AITC) MP G. G. Ponnambalam.also voted against the resolution.

This resolution was presented to Parliament by President Ranil Wickremesinghe.This proposal provides the necessary support to the Ministry of Finance to work with the International Monetary Fund.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *